Answer
Lightning Payroll can operate in four different licensing modes:
- Full/Paid — Full access within the limits of allowed total employees and companies for the chosen pricing tier.
- Trial — Full editing access to unlimited employees and companies, with all paid add-ons unlocked. The only features unavailable on a trial are restoring a backup and the Online Backups service.
- Read-Only — Can restore backups, use Online Backups, and view data, but cannot edit. This applies to a read-only subscription, and for 7 days after a full subscription expires.
- Unlicenced — Unable to use Lightning Payroll. This is what you see once the 7 days of read-only access after an expired subscription have ended; your data is not deleted and access returns when a valid subscription is installed.
To find out how to renew or upgrade your subscription, see How Can I Renew or Upgrade My Subscription?