Get started with a
free 30 day free trial
Get started with a free 30 day free trial
Buy Lightning Payroll
Packages starting from $199
Buy Lightning Payroll.
Packages starting from $199

Home >> Frequently Asked Questions >> Why is an Employee 'Locked'?

Why is an Employee 'Locked'?

 

If you are trying to edit a past pay in the Pays screen, these are usually locked/unlocked using the padlock button at the bottom of the edit pay window.

If however, you ever see one or more employees listed as Locked under Employees, it is usually due to a licence issue.

If only some of your employees are listed as Locked then you are exceeding the allowed number of employees for your current licence tier, and will likely need to upgrade.

To check the expiration date or the employee limit of your currently installed licence/subscription, go to Tools >> Licence Details .

Note: Sometimes terminated staff affect the limit if they've been left active within the program. Click here to learn how to terminate . If all terminations have been kept up-to-date and you still can't pay all the staff you need to, you'll just need to upgrade to the next licence tier.

If all employees are listed as Locked then the program does not detect a valid licence/subscription at all. This means you'll be in 'read-only' mode and will only be able to do things like view and print information, but not add employees or enter pays. Perhaps it has expired, or you're yet to enter the new subscription ID number which gets emailed through each year following payment under Tools >> Licence Assistant.

Created: 2019-03-26 23:52:03

Last Edited: 2019-05-26 23:34:36


Related FAQs

 

LP Virtual Assistant